The Drumbaragh Emmets club was formed in late 1939.

In 1953 Drumbaragh reached the Junior A Final but unfortunately after a replay Summerhill were too strong. In 1959 senior league success was gained with a win against Skyrne. The following year Drumbaragh reached the Senior Championship final where they were unable to stop a gallant four in a row chasing Navan O Mahonys side. The club amalgamated with Kilmainham and Kells Harps to form the parish side Gaeil Colmcille in the early 1960’s. In 1973 Emmet Drumbaragh reformed their own club.


In 1975 Emmet Drumbaragh reached the Junior A final against Summerhill however once again it was Summerhill who were winners. Drumbaragh reached the 1996 League final before a Finian Murtagh managed side gained success in the 1999 Junior B final against Walterstown in Pairc Tailteann.

A first Under 21 success was achieved in 2002 when a young Drums side defeated St. Vincent’s by a point. A second U21 C title followed with victory over Kilmainham and in 2007 an U21 B title made its way to the Kells parish side when St. Michaels were defeated in the decider. In 2008 an A League Division 4 title was won along with a first B league title 3 years later.

Drumbaragh teamed up with parish rivals Kilmainham in 2011 to win an Under 21 A championship when they defeated Walterstown. This year Drumbaragh have won their first Tailteann Cup and followed that up with a first Junior A championship when they defeated neighbours Kilmainham after a replay in October.